Virtual Teen Forums

Go Back   Virtual Teen Forums > >
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Chat Room

Closed Thread

Old December 15th, 2017, 05:48 PM   #1
Jilly

Name: Jill
Default Being in to cars "Not Feminine" WTF??

Okay, well first of all, I don't yet drive, but just the same I have always had an interest in cars. To me being able to work on a car just seems really kind of badass, especially in this day and age where people call a car mechanic to change a lightbulb.

It has always just been an interest to me. I read about it and spend some time watching youtube videos and stuff on doing stuff to cars. It's not like I am an expert, but it is something I think is fun.

Last year, I asked my dad if I could change the oil on the car. He said "I guess, but are you really sure you know what you are doing?" I said of course, and that's what I did. we had to buy ramps to put the car up and we had to buy an oil filter wrench, but I did it and it gave me a feeling of accomplishment.

Since then I'd done a few little things, like put in washer fluid and changed out tail lights. You can laugh, because those are such minor things but I did them and I liked it. I want to do more and I am going to take a class in auto shop.

So this is cool right?

Well, for some reason a bunch of my friends (mostly girls, btw.) have said that it's not feminine and not girly to do that. They gave me some really negative comments when I posted pics of me covered in dirty motor oil (Happens first time you change it). Some boys have said that they think it's hot that a girl even has an interest in cars.

I'm surprised. It is almost 2018. why would anyone see this as a negative thing? I totally get that I'm a bit of a tomboy. I always have been. But why would my friends say negative and unflattering things about the fact that I even know how to do that?

I don't get it.
Old December 15th, 2017, 08:40 PM   #2
EvaNL
Member++

EvaNL's Forum Picture

Name: Eva