Virtual Teen Forums

Go Back   Virtual Teen Forums > >
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Chat Room

Old November 10th, 2017, 12:04 AM   #1
DeanKekman

DeanKekman's Forum Picture

Name: Dean
Default Any Advice for a new wrestler?

I'm just now joining wrestling for the first time. I don't have anything I'm good at, but I'm hoping this can be MY thing. I've been training for this all summer, but I hear practice sessions are very similar to military boot camp. I also remember in Karate, they told me I was really good at grappling as a little kid, but I'm not sure that it'll travel over. I've been told I'm not gonna get anywhere because I have no experience and to not even join in the first place, but does anyone here have any advice?

It's okay. Life doesn't have to be perfect. It just has to be lived." - Dexter Morgan
DeanKekman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 10th, 2017, 02:05 PM   #2
swimjoey1
Member++

Name: Joey
Default Re: Any Advice for a new wrestler?

I wrestled in grade 8 and the work outs are pretty tough. It’s 3 to 4 days practice after school. We do strength training weights and lots of practice with wrestling your mates. Usually same weight scale as you. I did it for 1 year cause I prefer swimming more.
swimjoey1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12th, 2017, 10:49 AM   #3
SethfromMI
Legendary Member

SethfromMI's Forum Picture

Name: Seth

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanKekman View Post
I'm just now joining wrestling for the first time. I don't have anything I'm good at, but I'm hoping this can be MY thing. I've been training for this all summer, but I hear practice sessions are very similar to military boot camp. I also remember in Karate, they told me I was really good at grappling as a little kid, but I'm not sure that it'll travel over. I've been told I'm not gonna get anywhere because I have no experience and to not even join in the first place, but does anyone here have any advice?