Virtual Teen Forums
 

Go Back   Virtual Teen Forums > >
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Chat Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 7th, 2006, 11:49 AM   #421
Blahages
Nice Poster
 
Join Date: April 5, 2004
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkcar
looks very nice but firefox!?!?!
What's wrong with Firefox? I usually use Opera on Linux anyway. But, I just got the OS up and running and haven't installed it yet. I just had a few windows open to demonstrate that little effect.

What "should" I have then?

- Bill
Blahages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2006, 12:03 PM   #422
Aηdy
Banned
 
Aηdy's Forum Picture
 
Name: Andy
Join Date: July 19, 2005
Location: England
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

well if you ask me i would say maxathon, but if you asked kiros he would say avant!
Aηdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2006, 12:27 PM   #423
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Normally, Will, I'd say Avant Browser, hands down but you have Linux... From what I understand Linux doesn't have Internet Explorer, so you wouldn't be able to run Avant Browser (nor Maxthon) Anyway, since it's Linux, you should use whatever you can find.

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2006, 12:33 PM   #424
Aηdy
Banned
 
Aηdy's Forum Picture
 
Name: Andy
Join Date: July 19, 2005
Location: England
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

can you use msn messenger on linux?
Aηdy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7th, 2006, 04:20 PM   #425
Blahages
Nice Poster
 
Join Date: April 5, 2004
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinkcar
can you use msn messenger on linux?
There are Instant Messenger clients for linux that allow you to connect to MSN messenger. Amsn, Gaim, Kopete, and others.

As for IE in Linux, it's possible, with Wine (Windows Emulator, basically) but not typically something you'd want to try.

I tried Avant and didn't like it. I like Firefox and Opera better. Granted Avant manages memory better then Firefox, but then again, Opera ties or beats Avant in Memory management, at least on my Desktop (In Windows XP).

Although, The Linux version of Firefox is better then the Windows version, it seems. And, the Opera version works wonderous. Konqueror is even good.

IE and IE-based things have annoyed me too much. Mainly with the spyware crap. And, some other things. But, Opera works really well. The Alpha Version of Firefox 2.0 is better on Memory management, so they seem to have fixed the one issue I had with firefox.

- Bill
Blahages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2006, 02:13 AM   #426
0=
Gone...
 
0='s Forum Picture
 
Join Date: May 5, 2006
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

disregard

Last edited by 0=; May 9th, 2006 at 03:12 AM.
0= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2006, 11:18 AM   #427
Blahages
Nice Poster
 
Join Date: April 5, 2004
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Quote:
How do you make it pretty? Mine's all blurry and messy.
Hit the "Print Screen" (Mine says "prt sc") and then open up an image editing program like paint, and paste it in there, and save it as a jpeg file, and upload it.

- Bill
Blahages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2006, 11:28 AM   #428
JunkBondTrader
Awesome Poster
 
JunkBondTrader's Forum Picture
 
Name: Felix
Join Date: April 4, 2004
Location: London, England
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Ubuntu? GNOME!? This is a real Linux desktop! Suse 10.0 with KDE 3.4. The files on the desktop are Slackware ISOs which I'm about to switch to .

JunkBondTrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2006, 11:37 AM   #429
JunkBondTrader
Awesome Poster
 
JunkBondTrader's Forum Picture
 
Name: Felix
Join Date: April 4, 2004
Location: London, England
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blahages
There are Instant Messenger clients for linux that allow you to connect to MSN messenger. Amsn, Gaim, Kopete, and others.

As for IE in Linux, it's possible, with Wine (Windows Emulator, basically) but not typically something you'd want to try.

I tried Avant and didn't like it. I like Firefox and Opera better. Granted Avant manages memory better then Firefox, but then again, Opera ties or beats Avant in Memory management, at least on my Desktop (In Windows XP).

Although, The Linux version of Firefox is better then the Windows version, it seems. And, the Opera version works wonderous. Konqueror is even good.

IE and IE-based things have annoyed me too much. Mainly with the spyware crap. And, some other things. But, Opera works really well. The Alpha Version of Firefox 2.0 is better on Memory management, so they seem to have fixed the one issue I had with firefox.
Wrong again my GNOME using friend! Wine actually stands for Wine Is Not an Emulator. The typical GNU fashion of recursive acronyms. Wine is actually a compatibility layer, not an emulator.

P.S. Sorry for the double post but I couldn't get the quote right.
JunkBondTrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2006, 03:09 PM   #430
Blahages
Nice Poster
 
Join Date: April 5, 2004
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kasabian
Wrong again my GNOME using friend! Wine actually stands for Wine Is Not an Emulator. The typical GNU fashion of recursive acronyms. Wine is actually a compatibility layer, not an emulator.

P.S. Sorry for the double post but I couldn't get the quote right.
Wrong again? This is the first time. And, technically I'm not wrong. I didn't say it was an emulator. I said that it's basically an emulator. I realize it's not an emulator. I've known that for a while. But, that's basically what it is.

"Emulator: To imitate the function of (another system), as by modifications to hardware or software that allow the imitating system to accept the same data, execute the same programs, and achieve the same results as the imitated system."

It's a compatibility layer ontop of Linux that allows for Windows-based applications to be run. Seems to me that in some sense qualifies the definition.

Anyway, it doesn't really matter. The point I was making was that it's something that allows you to make use of certain applications that were written for windows on a linux system.

Who cares about technicalities.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kasabian
Ubuntu? GNOME!? This is a real Linux desktop! Suse 10.0 with KDE 3.4. The files on the desktop are Slackware ISOs which I'm about to switch to .
Haha. What's so good about Suse? I've used Suse. It sucks. Not entirely, because it's better then some dists, but [K]Ubuntu is a lot better in my opinion. And, what are you on about with me using Gnome? First off, I've used KDE all the time up until a few days ago, and I'd prefer to use KDE in some situations. Second, KDE uses more system resources. With a normal Gnome session, with nothing else loaded, I had like 130 meg free of ram (out of 512) when I checked it yesterday. Compare that to 5 meg free with KDE.

The main reason I'm using Gnome is because I want to use XGL and Compiz. And, it works with Gnome. That's why. I've tried it with Kde, and it just gives me fatal errors. I don't feel like messing with it right now.

Your desktop is way too plain. You all the default settings on your Suse. The only thing I can see that's different is you've changed the background. Granted, I didn't change the icons on mine, but they're really good on the latest Drapper beta. So, I haven't changed them.

I used Suse for a few months on my laptop. Suse 10.0. One of the first things I did with it, was run the System update thingy. It gave me a list of updates available, and I let it update itself. When it was finished, I rebooted and half the things didn't work. I managed to get into KDE, (I think, I'm not sure though, I've installed it too many times) and all (or at least most all) the packages it had updated/installed, it failed to install the dependencies for. So, nothing was right.

Debian's Apt-get utility is a lot better then Suse's Yast anyway. Installs all the dependencies, and everything. Much simplier.

And, as for Slackware. I haven't tried it yet, but what's so good about it? For the most part, Linux is Linux. You can customize one distribution to be just as good as another. If I had a fast connection I'd have tried it by now. I've tried most every other major dist so far.

I tried Slax, which is based off Slackware, and it's not that much different from what I'm using. Main difference I see is that you have to install everything from source. And, it's not like I couldn't do it on here. And, have. It's pretty much worthless to do it anyway, if there's precompiled packages that I can just install easily with one quick click then having to install all the things needed for making the files, like gcc, make, etc. I have all those installed, but it's still easier to use one command then ./configure, make, and sudo make install.

You need to update your Suse anyway . At least when I had Suse 10 installed, I had everything updated.

Since you like KDE so much, I'll give you a screenshot of my Kubuntu Desktop when I had KDE installed a little while ago:



Here's my Suse 10.0 with KDE 3.5 from a few months ago:


- Bill

Last edited by Blahages; May 8th, 2006 at 03:37 PM.
Blahages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2006, 03:54 PM   #431
Whisper
Ancient Gmod
 
Whisper's Forum Picture
 
Name: Kodie
Join Date: June 30, 2004
Location: Van Island, BC
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

dude i LOVE the backround in the second one
where did you get it?

♫♪Κodie♪♫
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 8th, 2006, 07:04 PM   #432
Blahages
Nice Poster
 
Join Date: April 5, 2004
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by *}Whisper{*
dude i LOVE the backround in the second one
where did you get it?
http://www.deviantart.com/deviation/1875943/

- Bill
Blahages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 02:28 AM   #433
0=
Gone...
 
0='s Forum Picture
 
Join Date: May 5, 2006
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

It doesn't do anything when I hit Print Screen.
0= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 03:02 AM   #434
Whisper
Ancient Gmod
 
Whisper's Forum Picture
 
Name: Kodie
Join Date: June 30, 2004
Location: Van Island, BC
Age: 30
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 4
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Thank you Blahages!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by popo93
It doesn't do anything when I hit Print Screen.
hit prtsc then open pain and right click hit past (Ctrl+v) then save and just below where it asks what to save it as theres a drop down tab
set the to JPEG save it
host it on w/e site imageshack, photobucket dosen't matter
then post it here

♫♪Κodie♪♫
Whisper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 03:09 AM   #435
0=
Gone...
 
0='s Forum Picture
 
Join Date: May 5, 2006
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!



Thx!

That's a picture of a lion yawning that I took at The Wild Animal Park.
0= is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 07:39 AM   #436
JunkBondTrader
Awesome Poster
 
JunkBondTrader's Forum Picture
 
Name: Felix
Join Date: April 4, 2004
Location: London, England
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blahages
Wrong again? This is the first time. And, technically I'm not wrong. I didn't say it was an emulator. I said that it's basically an emulator. I realize it's not an emulator. I've known that for a while. But, that's basically what it is.

"Emulator: To imitate the function of (another system), as by modifications to hardware or software that allow the imitating system to accept the same data, execute the same programs, and achieve the same results as the imitated system."

It's a compatibility layer ontop of Linux that allows for Windows-based applications to be run. Seems to me that in some sense qualifies the definition.

Anyway, it doesn't really matter. The point I was making was that it's something that allows you to make use of certain applications that were written for windows on a linux system.

Who cares about technicalities.



Haha. What's so good about Suse? I've used Suse. It sucks. Not entirely, because it's better then some dists, but [K]Ubuntu is a lot better in my opinion. And, what are you on about with me using Gnome? First off, I've used KDE all the time up until a few days ago, and I'd prefer to use KDE in some situations. Second, KDE uses more system resources. With a normal Gnome session, with nothing else loaded, I had like 130 meg free of ram (out of 512) when I checked it yesterday. Compare that to 5 meg free with KDE.

The main reason I'm using Gnome is because I want to use XGL and Compiz. And, it works with Gnome. That's why. I've tried it with Kde, and it just gives me fatal errors. I don't feel like messing with it right now.

Your desktop is way too plain. You all the default settings on your Suse. The only thing I can see that's different is you've changed the background. Granted, I didn't change the icons on mine, but they're really good on the latest Drapper beta. So, I haven't changed them.

I used Suse for a few months on my laptop. Suse 10.0. One of the first things I did with it, was run the System update thingy. It gave me a list of updates available, and I let it update itself. When it was finished, I rebooted and half the things didn't work. I managed to get into KDE, (I think, I'm not sure though, I've installed it too many times) and all (or at least most all) the packages it had updated/installed, it failed to install the dependencies for. So, nothing was right.

Debian's Apt-get utility is a lot better then Suse's Yast anyway. Installs all the dependencies, and everything. Much simplier.

And, as for Slackware. I haven't tried it yet, but what's so good about it? For the most part, Linux is Linux. You can customize one distribution to be just as good as another. If I had a fast connection I'd have tried it by now. I've tried most every other major dist so far.

I tried Slax, which is based off Slackware, and it's not that much different from what I'm using. Main difference I see is that you have to install everything from source. And, it's not like I couldn't do it on here. And, have. It's pretty much worthless to do it anyway, if there's precompiled packages that I can just install easily with one quick click then having to install all the things needed for making the files, like gcc, make, etc. I have all those installed, but it's still easier to use one command then ./configure, make, and sudo make install.

You need to update your Suse anyway . At least when I had Suse 10 installed, I had everything updated.

Since you like KDE so much, I'll give you a screenshot of my Kubuntu Desktop when I had KDE installed a little while ago:



Here's my Suse 10.0 with KDE 3.5 from a few months ago:

For the record I was just having a laugh. Sorry if I pissed you off.
JunkBondTrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 07:39 AM   #437
JunkBondTrader
Awesome Poster
 
JunkBondTrader's Forum Picture
 
Name: Felix
Join Date: April 4, 2004
Location: London, England
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blahages
Wrong again? This is the first time. And, technically I'm not wrong. I didn't say it was an emulator. I said that it's basically an emulator. I realize it's not an emulator. I've known that for a while. But, that's basically what it is.

"Emulator: To imitate the function of (another system), as by modifications to hardware or software that allow the imitating system to accept the same data, execute the same programs, and achieve the same results as the imitated system."

It's a compatibility layer ontop of Linux that allows for Windows-based applications to be run. Seems to me that in some sense qualifies the definition.

Anyway, it doesn't really matter. The point I was making was that it's something that allows you to make use of certain applications that were written for windows on a linux system.

Who cares about technicalities.



Haha. What's so good about Suse? I've used Suse. It sucks. Not entirely, because it's better then some dists, but [K]Ubuntu is a lot better in my opinion. And, what are you on about with me using Gnome? First off, I've used KDE all the time up until a few days ago, and I'd prefer to use KDE in some situations. Second, KDE uses more system resources. With a normal Gnome session, with nothing else loaded, I had like 130 meg free of ram (out of 512) when I checked it yesterday. Compare that to 5 meg free with KDE.

The main reason I'm using Gnome is because I want to use XGL and Compiz. And, it works with Gnome. That's why. I've tried it with Kde, and it just gives me fatal errors. I don't feel like messing with it right now.

Your desktop is way too plain. You all the default settings on your Suse. The only thing I can see that's different is you've changed the background. Granted, I didn't change the icons on mine, but they're really good on the latest Drapper beta. So, I haven't changed them.

I used Suse for a few months on my laptop. Suse 10.0. One of the first things I did with it, was run the System update thingy. It gave me a list of updates available, and I let it update itself. When it was finished, I rebooted and half the things didn't work. I managed to get into KDE, (I think, I'm not sure though, I've installed it too many times) and all (or at least most all) the packages it had updated/installed, it failed to install the dependencies for. So, nothing was right.

Debian's Apt-get utility is a lot better then Suse's Yast anyway. Installs all the dependencies, and everything. Much simplier.

And, as for Slackware. I haven't tried it yet, but what's so good about it? For the most part, Linux is Linux. You can customize one distribution to be just as good as another. If I had a fast connection I'd have tried it by now. I've tried most every other major dist so far.

I tried Slax, which is based off Slackware, and it's not that much different from what I'm using. Main difference I see is that you have to install everything from source. And, it's not like I couldn't do it on here. And, have. It's pretty much worthless to do it anyway, if there's precompiled packages that I can just install easily with one quick click then having to install all the things needed for making the files, like gcc, make, etc. I have all those installed, but it's still easier to use one command then ./configure, make, and sudo make install.

You need to update your Suse anyway . At least when I had Suse 10 installed, I had everything updated.

Since you like KDE so much, I'll give you a screenshot of my Kubuntu Desktop when I had KDE installed a little while ago:



Here's my Suse 10.0 with KDE 3.5 from a few months ago:

For the record I was just having a laugh. Sorry if I pissed you off.
JunkBondTrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 9th, 2006, 01:17 PM   #438
Blahages
Nice Poster
 
Join Date: April 5, 2004
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Nah, you didn't. Infact, I was having fun responding to it. So, we were both having a laugh.

- Bill
Blahages is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 08:31 PM   #439
JunkBondTrader
Awesome Poster
 
JunkBondTrader's Forum Picture
 
Name: Felix
Join Date: April 4, 2004
Location: London, England
Gender: Male
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

My new desktop, fairly Kustomised (kustomised... get it? ...like KDE... oh, nevermind!). Default SUSE window decorations because I like them.

http://www.felixwells.org/images/screen1.jpg

It's me, Felix.
Name changes annoy everyone, I know.
JunkBondTrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12th, 2006, 10:23 PM   #440
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default Re: Post your desktop screenshot!

Felix... You have your own website with your own domain... I have to say... Well done

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright©2000 - 2018
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, VirtualTeen.org