Virtual Teen Forums
 

Go Back   Virtual Teen Forums > >
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Chat Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:42 AM   #1
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default new cpu

ok im looking at buying a new cpu

my options are a Athlon FX-57 or...

an Athlon X2 4400+

the FX-57 would give great overclocking potential

but the X2 would give more power straight from teh box

the FX-57 cost $1k

the X2 costs $529

im leaning toward the X2 but what do you guys think i should buy

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 10:08 AM   #2
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default

Well, supposedly, the FX-57 has the power to match a 5.7GHz processor, but I don't think one exists from Intel. Nor do I think Intel has a 4.4GHz processor, which the 4400+ would initially match. Anywho, basically any AMD processor will give you extreme over clocking capabilities, as every AMD processor is extremely underclocked to begin with - because of the heat they generate. If you do decide to overclock any AMD processor, I suggest you get a liquid cooling system, just so that you can overclock (and overvolt) it all you want without frying it with extreme heat. Though do be careful with overvolting, because you could fry the CPU, not because of the vCore, but because of the voltage tolerance of the static RAM in the processor.

And if you are going for an X2, I suggest ya get the 4800+ because it's just that much more powerful, but it also has the dual core.

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 12:02 PM   #3
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default

Quote:
And if you are going for an X2, I suggest ya get the 4800+ because it's just that much more powerful, but it also has the dual core. Very Happy
its also that much more expensive

heat isnt a problem with my BAH (Big Ass Heatsink)


too bad my winchester core i have now is a horrible overclocker (100 mhz maxed it out)

ill probably get the 4400+ bundled with xp x64 or the 4800+ bundled with nothing

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 12:10 PM   #4
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default

wow... That's a big one.... But still, the 4800+ is like around the price of the FX-57, so I'd get that if you want a dual core processor

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 12:32 PM   #5
redcar
Retired Administrator
 
redcar's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: December 15, 2004
Location: Ireland
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 20
Default

ok can i ask a stupid question, what exactly is a cpu? i am not very good when it comes to the ins and outs of computers.

~ A L E X ~

||||||||||||
redcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 12:47 PM   #6
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default

it is a processsor

your dell has a pentium 4

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 12:57 PM   #7
redcar
Retired Administrator
 
redcar's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: December 15, 2004
Location: Ireland
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 20
Default

cheers for that!!

~ A L E X ~

||||||||||||
redcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:05 PM   #8
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default

yup just too bad that the Athlon X2 is a million times faster than the P4

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 01:07 PM   #9
redcar
Retired Administrator
 
redcar's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: December 15, 2004
Location: Ireland
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 20
Default

my P4 does me fine!

~ A L E X ~

||||||||||||
redcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 04:43 PM   #10
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default

lol the X2 is made for multitasking

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 04:44 PM   #11
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default

I've always loved that avatar

Anywho, technically, the CPU is inside the processor. It stands for Central Processing Unit. The P4 comes in three varieties of pins: 423, 478, and 775 (which is pinless and uses arrays instead). The X2 and FX AMD processors come in only one set of pins... but what a set: 939!

... I got bored.

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 04:47 PM   #12
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default

isnt the opteron 940?

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 07:11 PM   #13
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default

The opteron is, but the FX and X2 are both 939, along with the socket 939, of course.

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 09:14 PM   #14
Gothic_Knight
Member
 
Gothic_Knight's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: May 20, 2005
Default

I've heard nothing but praise for the Opteron 165.

It's clocked at 1.8 ghz, but has the 1mb cache per core that the 4400/4800+ has. It's been easily overclocked to 2.4 ghz from what I've seen, and it's cheaper than all of them.

May as well go with that...


EDIT: The 1xx Opterons are all for S939, so don't worry about that.
Gothic_Knight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 26th, 2005, 09:26 PM   #15
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default

ill prolly get the X2 4400+ bundled with xp x64

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright©2000 - 2018
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, VirtualTeen.org