Virtual Teen Forums
 

Go Back   Virtual Teen Forums > >
Register Blogs FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read Chat Room

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 23rd, 2006, 10:57 PM   #1
Underage_Thinker
Awesome Poster
 
Underage_Thinker's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: January 26, 2005
Location: Texas -USA
Gender: Male
Default Wirless help

Here i need some help with my wirless internet. I have a wierles g linkses router and i thas been working for about 2 months with no problem. Then without worning the internet stoped. Here is a vido of my network thingy. If you need me to show more just ask. I have to get off tognight but i will be back on tomorrow


Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

︻┳═一
Underage_Thinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2006, 11:18 PM   #2
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default

1. your signal strength is horrible

2. you need to enable DHCP

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23rd, 2006, 11:30 PM   #3
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default

He doesn't have DHCP enabled?

And it also might help if you enable "Wireless Zero Configuration." Do you know how to enable those?

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2006, 07:33 AM   #4
Underage_Thinker
Awesome Poster
 
Underage_Thinker's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: January 26, 2005
Location: Texas -USA
Gender: Male
Default

i don't know. My comp hates me. b/c it turns that dchp shit off liake for no apparent reasoon. Plus i have a wirless boster that gets the signal up to %90 but that is another story y that stops working at randome times.


Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

︻┳═一
Underage_Thinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2006, 06:42 PM   #5
Underage_Thinker
Awesome Poster
 
Underage_Thinker's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: January 26, 2005
Location: Texas -USA
Gender: Male
Default

Ok i have a problem enabling DHCP

I go to the router settings and look at it.
http://www.schoolhousescrewup.braveh...ksesrouter.bmp

Then i look at the settings on my comp an says DHCP isn't enabled


Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

︻┳═一
Underage_Thinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2006, 07:16 PM   #6
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Underage_Thinker
Ok i have a problem enabling DHCP

I go to the router settings and look at it.
http://www.schoolhousescrewup.braveh...ksesrouter.bmp

Then i look at the settings on my comp an says DHCP isn't enabled
Ok, first of all, don't use bravenet to host pictures Second, what are you actually looking in when you say "settings on [your] comp"? O_o

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 24th, 2006, 09:49 PM   #7
Underage_Thinker
Awesome Poster
 
Underage_Thinker's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: January 26, 2005
Location: Texas -USA
Gender: Male
Default

First of all i have to use bravehost b/c this is wat the pic loks like if i use image hosting.


Second of all when i say settings i mean the router settings. the ones i get when i type in my routers ip in my browser. For example my routers ip 192.168.1.1


Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

︻┳═一
Underage_Thinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2006, 07:23 AM   #8
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default

Here kid (clicky)

And so, your router says DHCP is enabled, but it also says it's not? O_o

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2006, 05:26 PM   #9
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default

reset your router, it should have a reset button

reset your wireless settings

try again

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2006, 06:27 PM   #10
Underage_Thinker
Awesome Poster
 
Underage_Thinker's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: January 26, 2005
Location: Texas -USA
Gender: Male
Default

Quote:
And so, your router says DHCP is enabled, but it also says it's not?
Ya what i am saying is that my router says that DHCP is enabled but my computer that is reseving the signal says that DHCP isn't enabled.

Here is the client table for the router. http://www.forrestbrown.bravehost.com/Dhcp.bmp

P.s imageshack says my pic is to big (1422 kb)


Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

︻┳═一
Underage_Thinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2006, 06:48 PM   #11
Skhorpion
Awesome Poster
 
Join Date: October 17, 2005
Location: Middle Tennessee
Age: 26
Gender: Male
Default

bravenet DOES NOT WORK AT ALL

save your pic as a jpeg and use photobucket

All is fair in love and war.
Skhorpion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 25th, 2006, 07:08 PM   #12
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default

Don't use bitmap formats! Only use jpeg, jpg, or png. Then upload to imageshack -_-

And yes, I agree with Cory, just reset your router. Try and shutdown your wireless computer and see if it helps.

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 27th, 2006, 09:57 PM   #13
ejebay91
Member
 
ejebay91's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: August 27, 2005
Gender: Undisclosed
Default

If your signial is weak get a repaeter by your router company that schould help if not, u can always go back to lan
ejebay91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2006, 02:42 PM   #14
Underage_Thinker
Awesome Poster
 
Underage_Thinker's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: January 26, 2005
Location: Texas -USA
Gender: Male
Default

lan is not an option, but ya i gusse i will reset my network evently. But i may do it in a little bit b/c it is hard to get back up once its down.


Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

︻┳═一
Underage_Thinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2006, 02:47 PM   #15
Kiros
Retired Administrator
 
Kiros's Forum Picture
 
Name: Ben
Join Date: May 22, 2004
Location: Albany, LA - USA
Age: 28
Gender: Male
Blog Entries: 17
Default

But you can't use it now anyway, right? Not for the wireless connection anyway...

Kiros || Ben

Happiness is not about being perfect.
It is about seeing beyond the imperfections.
Kiros is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28th, 2006, 02:51 PM   #16
Underage_Thinker
Awesome Poster
 
Underage_Thinker's Forum Picture
 
Join Date: January 26, 2005
Location: Texas -USA
Gender: Male
Default

ya. i do have a boster so that if i could get my wirless to work it would be fine. My conection on my wirless comp is 54mbps


Computers in the future may weigh no more than 1.5 tons."
- Popular Mechanics, 1949

︻┳═一
Underage_Thinker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright©2000 - 2018
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Lite) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, VirtualTeen.org