PDA

View Full Version : Type 1 Bipolar

Bananasmoothie
September 5th, 2010, 08:42 AM
Hi just thought id let people know that I have recently been diagnosed with type 1 bipolar. I have been looking for somewhere i can talk about this and with people my age. So it looks like its ok to talk here. If you have the same condition or similar please hit me up because im still trying to find out more and how i will be affected with the rest of my life. Im rob and would like to talk to people who are similar please and find out more about all this. Thank you

Rob

Syvelocin
September 5th, 2010, 04:12 PM
Hey!

I've been diagnosed with bipolar I for three years, though I've had symptoms all throughout my life.

I'm always open to talk, and I would love to. I'm studying to become a psychologist, so I could use the experience. ;)

Bipolar disorder, not to scare you off or anything, can have an incredible impact on your future. From the little things like hallucinations and losing sleep affecting your wellbeing, or maybe school/work, to it affecting relationships with family and friends. And depending on how your bipolar disorder is like, how severe your manic episodes are and such, it can seriously impair daily life. It was quite hard for me when I was first diagnosed. And it led to a lot of problems in my life. But you just have to hang in there until you get your meds set up. It might be hard, but through all of that, I've met very few bipolar patients who would get rid of their disorder entirely if they could.

Zephyr
September 6th, 2010, 02:07 AM
Hello there :)

I'm Bipolar type 1 myself, I've been diagnosed for 5 years. The psych ward is actually why I joined VT. The site really is a wonderful place to meet people out there that go through the same things.