PDA

View Full Version : I'm a cutter

impan1019
August 24th, 2015, 08:16 PM
Hey. My name is Morgan. i have been cutting for about two years due to depression. I hate myself and i am stressed. Cutting has kind of helped me but not really. I'm addicted to cutting and yeah. I kinda want to stop cutting but at the same time I don't. What do I do?

Abhorrence
August 25th, 2015, 03:59 AM
The best thing to do is to stop cutting, this is just a generic overstatement. The first thing to do is to attempt to get into your head that cutting is hindering your life, it is in no way any good to you. You need to demonise it in a way. If you have any positive feelings towards it, it makes it so much harder to quit. Once you have got in a mindset where you're certain you want to quit, it's going to be a tough road to do so. Any addiction is extremely hard to beat and requires a lot of dedication and willpower. In the Cutting and Self Harm section of VT you will find some sticky threads. There is one that lists some alternatives to self-harm and one that is a non self-harm calendar which you can post to to keep track of your progress. I hope everything goes well and if you need anything, feel free to talk to me.

impan1019
August 25th, 2015, 04:27 AM
Thanks Abhorrence. It's just, in a way it helps so it's been hard to quit. i quit for like 6 months but i couldn't sem to stop completely

Daniella98
August 25th, 2015, 06:00 AM
I know nothing about depression so please feel free to ignore my input. Or put me in my place even...
Instead of cutting, how about running? Maybe even until it hurts...

Doc. Maestro
August 25th, 2015, 08:22 AM
Hey. My name is Morgan. i have been cutting for about two years due to depression. I hate myself and i am stressed. Cutting has kind of helped me but not really. I'm addicted to cutting and yeah. I kinda want to stop cutting but at the same time I don't. What do I do?