PDA

View Full Version : deleating


mrjc
July 14th, 2015, 02:53 AM
being able to delete visitor messages and mentions and your account if you wanna leave

StoppingTime
July 14th, 2015, 06:25 AM
There are a number of reasons we don't allow users to delete these kinds of messages and information from their account. Most importantly, if users were able to delete visitor messages, for example, it would be much more difficult for moderators to do their jobs in making sure that the system isn't used inappropriately.
As for deleting actual accounts, similar problems arise. Even administrators don't delete user accounts, as doing so can leave gaps in threads, as well as removes any information connected to your account that we may need to access in the future.
If you ever want to leave, you can just remove all your personal information (if you have any) on your profile, and it'll immediately become pretty difficult for anyone to recognize you.

Rayquaza
July 14th, 2015, 07:56 AM
As for deleting actual accounts, similar problems arise. Even administrators don't delete user accounts, as doing so can leave gaps in threads, as well as removes any information connected to your account that we may need to access in the future.

Could you please explain this part?

ImCoolBeans
July 14th, 2015, 09:37 AM
Could you please explain this part?

If you delete an account it would be very easy to start new as a totally new person, with no trace of your old account on the site. We don't want that happening.

Rayquaza
July 14th, 2015, 10:01 AM
If you delete an account it would be very easy to start new as a totally new person, with no trace of your old account on the site. We don't want that happening.

Ah, ok. Thanks for clearing that up.