PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a small room pet, not sure what?

Baconator
December 14th, 2014, 11:46 AM
I am a 17 year old male, living with my parents and currently have 3 dogs and a cat, none of which are "my" animals, more or less my parent's/sister's. I have been wanting to get a small pet for my room for a while. I've had a history of small pets such as birds, a rabbit, a few hamsters, a turtle and some lizards.

I am thinking along the lines of a furry pet such as a rabbit, or possibly a scaley such as a chameleon. I am looking for a pet that isn't small, but isn't large. I want one that I can let loose in my room and not have them slip under the door. I liked the rabbit when I was young and I am thinking about another one but I know that they can grow to 20lbs or larger, so I don't know if that's a room pet. I've also been thinking about a hedgehog. I'm open to exotic animals.

As for time spent in my room, I am still a full time highschool student and I have a part time job. Most of the week I am in my room and can take care of them. About 2-3 days I won't be home all day except for certain points such as an hour or so.

With that being said, I do have a job and can support a small animal in my own care and my parents don't mind if I have a small pet.

Any ideas on what pet would best suit me?

SethfromMI
December 14th, 2014, 11:48 AM
rabbits can get bigger than what most people realize. a chameleon is not a bad idea, they do not require tons of attention so you can leave it, but can take it out when you are there

Luminous
December 14th, 2014, 12:05 PM