PDA

View Full Version : I'm trying to write a story.

Navi
November 6th, 2014, 11:48 PM
Hey guys. It's always been a goal of mine to write a story. Usually, I give up after the first paragraph, but this time I'd like to actually complete this project. Now, I've never written anything complex before, so please be nice :3 I rarely ever show any of my works to anyone. (sorry in advance for formatting issues- it's a bit late and I copied/pasted from the word doc. :P

As for the story, I don't really want to give too many details away, but it's been something I've wanted to write about for the longest time now. Usually the story sounds so negative, I end up scrapping it. I'm sure this still has some flaws, but practice makes perfect. :)

-----

Every Tuesday evening, he quietly slips through the front entrance of the bar and promptly takes his seat on a stool by the window. He orders his usual- a large glass of what I can only guess is sweet tea. His glass jar has a small piece of paper taped on to it, reading “tips”, is placed at the edge of an antiquated piano. Even though he’s been playing here for a few months, I still don’t know his name.

I tend to avoid the bar since the noisiest and heaviest local bands play blaring sing-along songs six out of the seven days of the week. Tuesday is a totally different atmosphere. The boy at the piano – he controls the atmosphere, not by his voice, but by his musical talent alone.

There’s something that makes me unable to keep my eyes off him. He’s unusually quiet. If he does speak, it’s very soft, usually to say “thank you” to someone that tosses a few bucks in his tip jar. There’s a soft but pleasantly warm smile that never leaves his face. On occasion, if a patron gets too rowdy, he can crack a quick smile. He probably knows more songs in his head than all the songs I have on my iPod, and he’ll even know most songs people request to hear.