View Full Version : Expectations for College?

June 26th, 2017, 01:41 AM
So, I'd like to go to college/university for a degree in psychology. But I don't know how likely that is, because I was a TERRIBLE student in high school. I barely finished my last year and the highest ACT score I got was a 21. Would this stop me from being accepted into a college? I'd honestly love to go for both the experience and to study something I'm genuinely interested in (which not doing so was a reason I didn't do well in high school.)

It would also have to be at least a year after finishing high school, not sure how much it matters whether someone goes to college immediately or not.

Any advice appreciated. :)

June 29th, 2017, 06:24 PM
its good to study something you like , i wasnt good at high either but i just finished a culinary college and it was fine . Just check what do you need to do to join a psycology college and go for it . its not something special , i would say its like school just with adults in. i wish you good luck .

Deleted User
June 29th, 2017, 08:01 PM
It absolutely doesn't matter when you go to college. There's a man in my program who rather deceptively looks our age somehow but he's 46, has two kids, a wife, and honestly? He's as into all of this as we are. You're never too old to want to learn. And it can be good to take a year off. We're in school from as young as 3 to 19 in some cases. That's a long damn time. Take your time. There's no rush.

Be prepared though, college is a lot of work no matter what type of program you're in. If you want something, you have to work for it. You're going to end up taking mandatory courses that you may not like as much as the rest of your major. Put in the effort even if it's just enough to pass. But moral of the story? You're going to be busy. Time management will be your best skill though don't feel bad if it takes awhile to figure out. I'm a fully independent adult and I'm still working on it.