PDA

View Full Version : I think I have PTSD - but I need help

Spencah
February 22nd, 2014, 04:11 PM
Hello everyone!

Ever since I was in 7th grade (I'm a sophomore in HS right now) I wanted to be a doctor. In case you aren't aware, one of the most important things a person has to do in order to become a doctor is to complete a semester or two of Gross Anatomy, meaning you dissect a cadaver (aka a human). I was exposed to cadavers at a young age (around 6) when I went to go see Body Worlds and I thought it was really one of the coolest things I have ever seen. So in 7th grade, I watched my first cadaver dissection on YouTube and I thought it was amazing as well. It never really caused any problems.

Last January, my Honors Biology offered us a chance to view a pre-dissected cadaver and have a hands-on experience with the anatomy of a human. I signed up for it and I took the after school anatomy course he offered to prepare for it.

The day before the actual dissection, I was really scared. It was weird...I was nervous but excited at the same time. I forgot to include that I have a HUGE fear of death. The concept of death, just death itself scares me (which is ironic considering I'm catholic) so much.

We walked into the hospital and I was almost shaking which is bizarre. I wasn't feeling that scared (just typing this is making me feel cold and scared) yesterday, so it was really weird. We went down a series of hallways and finally, it hit me. The smell of formaldehyde smacked me in the face and we walked in to see a body bag on a metal table. I looked away as they opened it but as people commented on how it looked, I slowly looked at it and it wasn't too bad. About 45 minutes in, I began to have a panic attack so they took me out of the room and gave me some food so I didn't pass out. As I came back in, I managed to do the rest of the lab and I went home fine (hungry as hell though, and everyone who has worked with formalin can understand my pain xD).