PDA

View Full Version : Are they unsupportive or am I ungrateful and needy?

crowdlost
November 6th, 2016, 07:36 PM
I haven't posted on this forums in a veeery long time, but it's been of great use to me in the past. In fact, it's been about 5 years since my last post I think. I just graduated college and I'm doing better in so many different areas in my life.

The one thing that hasn't changed is how I feel about my family. After graduation, I realized that what I studied in college wasn't for me and it's not what I want to pursue in life. I don't regret getting a degree in this major, but about two years into college, I realized what I really wanted to do, and I love that I had that time to "discover myself".

Now, I want to change careers, but not without working and having enough money to support me first. I moved in with my successful, engineer brother who lives in a small, middle-of-nowhere town. I want to live in a big city like NYC or LA because there are more opportunities there and because I love living in a city.

All my family wants is for me to get a steady 9-to-5 job and buy a house like my brother. I. Don't. Want. That.

I get that they're coming from a place of concern, but I can't shake the feeling that they're simply being unsupportive. I can't even bring up this conversation (about me wanting to chase my dreams) without being ridiculed with questions or responses like "oh come on, you can do that as a hobby", "no one loves what they do for a living anyway" or "people change what they want from life all the time".

It hurts to the point that I just nod and smile now. I can't get into a debate with them about this anymore, and my small group of friends agree with me that my dreams aren't far-fetched and I should never give up on them (we're only communicating via text now that I moved to be with my brother).