PDA

View Full Version : Why The Death Penalty Needs To Go

Pages : [1] 2

thefacepubekid
October 19th, 2016, 11:08 PM
Hey guys,

I am currently studying the death penalty in Social Studies at school, and would like to say my entire viewpoint on the death penalty has since changed.
Because I live in New Zealand, where the death penalty has been abolished for many years, we base most of our study off the American death penalty. But here's my main points for why the death penalty should be 'axed' (geddit):

1) The death penalty was created to suit another time, age and system. It has become largely obsolete;
2) Although many taxpayers say they should not have to pay to keep murderers and criminals alive, it should be the government's responsibility to ensure they serve ALL the people. No government, person or state should be allowed to decide whether or not a human is a 'write-off' and should be put to death;
3) Every person can be rehabilitated unless they are mentally ill, in which case we should keep them away from the majority of society, but in their own secure communities which are constantly guarded to ensure that everyone gets a chance at life. Also, by the time death row inmates reach their execution date, they are more often than not ALREADY rehabilitated and understand their action were wrong;
4) Whether or not a person gets sentenced to death relies heavily on the quality of legal assistance they can afford;
5) The majority of people on death row are NOT the 'baddest of the bad', they are just people who have made honest mistakes in life.

Let me know what you think!

Thanks,
Josh

mattsmith48
October 19th, 2016, 11:22 PM