PDA

View Full Version : How do you guys like to revise?

bougainvillea
October 9th, 2016, 08:26 AM
I'm kinda stuck for ideas, and with my first set of proper mock exams starting this Friday I'm kinda stressing out :oops:

Desynchronized
October 9th, 2016, 08:29 AM
Eh...i'm not very good at anything related to studies :p But simply reading it over nd over loudly works for me.

Atlantis
October 9th, 2016, 08:35 AM
For the sciences, what I do is revise just one topic at a time (something small, let's say just homeostasis for biology), make some mindmaps or whatever for it, then do a past exam question. Then do the same cycle all over again. It sounds boring, but it works.

For English what I do is for literature quotes and stuff, I find songs like these (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLqGFsWf-P-cAQt6vHfL79GTIawiRlOY9I) quite useful. Also it could be useful to write short chapter/act/scene summaries, just like a sentence or something which helps you understand the plot better.

For geography processes and stuff, what I do is like a storyboard with a picture then just 3 key words. I find this better to learn than a lengthy sentence.

For maths, it's just learn it and do it. Maths is that subject that you just have to do to get it in my opinion.

For french or any language for the listening and reading, just learning vocab from Quizlet I find works well. You don't really need to know the conjugation/tense rules in detail I don't think, you just need to understand what is going on.

Generally though, doing stuff is a whole lot better than just reading a revision guide. You learn a lot more this way. For example, you could pretend you are a teacher just talking to yourself explaining things in a simple way is extremely useful. Learning with friends and getting them to explain things to you could offer a different viewpoint that could make things easier for you and for them.

bougainvillea
October 9th, 2016, 09:08 AM
Lost Horizon, thanks for all these notes!