PDA

View Full Version : Work

Apollo.
July 5th, 2016, 06:10 PM
Edit: don't actually know if this is the correct section.

Okay, not posted here in forever. Just remembered the place when I was looking for an answer. So to the point.

I'm openly gay to everyone of my friends and family and anyone else that asks, apart from those at my work. My manager knows and that's all. I work as a car salesman so the environment is extremely competitive and not particularly forgiving, that said I get on well with most of the team, however 2 showrooms have sort of merged and we have 3 new colleagues. So to the point I'm not particularly comfortable revealing that I'm gay to any of my co-workers simply for the fact it's nothing to do with them and I try and keep my work life and personal life separate.

One of these new colleagues a female a few years older than me (she's 23) but a bit immature has been pushing me on the subject asking if I'm gay, demanding an answer and doing it very publicly in front of everyone. This has came about because my boyfriend that I live with is in hospital so I've been speaking to my manager about a bit of extra time out and just using the term "the guy I live with". It's pissing me off big time now, I'm not quite sure what to do about it, she's very close with a manager (not the one that knows I'm gay) so telling her to go and fuck herself isn't wise.

Anyone any ideas how to go about this? What to do? Feels incredibly weird posting here again but my friends are all just coming up with funny but unrealistic ideas and I don't want to worry my boyfriend with trivial stuff just now. Thanks in advance, Nick

Sports Boy
July 5th, 2016, 07:26 PM
Working in a hostile environment is a matter that ownership/management needs to be made aware of. Your manager needs to talk to that girl's manager and he needs to tell her to stfu. And he doesn't have to do it in any way that discloses your sexuality.