PDA

View Full Version : A decent, cheap gaming rig?


Microcosm
June 10th, 2016, 03:44 PM
I know pretty much nothing about gaming technology except for you need a good video card for games and DDR3 is the way to go or something like that.

I'd like to buy a computer that can run games like DayZ at mid-high graphics for under 500 bucks. Is it possible?

If anyone wants to educate me on PC parts that'd be nice too.

Reise
June 10th, 2016, 03:50 PM
Graphic cards are GDDR5, (hopefully) not in DDR3. :p
At least nowadays.

Ya want a desktop, right (only the tower)?
DayZ really doesn't need a lot to be run properly, <$500 is possible.
Lemme check for desktops.

EDIT:

'saw this one:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/cyberpowerpc-gamer-ultra-desktop-amd-fx-series-8gb-memory-1tb-hard-drive-black-red/4300907.p?id=bb4300907&skuId=4300907

Not sure of the exact CPU model but 1 TB HDD, 8 GB RAM and an Nvidia GT730, it's pretty decent.

Also got this one:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/ibuypower-desktop-amd-fx-series-8gb-memory-500gb-hard-drive-black-blue/4575218.p?id=1219770999039&skuId=4575218

The specs are similar but it seems to have better reviews.

Flapjack
June 10th, 2016, 04:27 PM
Graphic cards are GDDR5, (hopefully) not in DDR3. :p
At least nowadays.

Ya want a desktop, right (only the tower)?
DayZ really doesn't need a lot to be run properly, <$500 is possible.
Lemme check for desktops.

EDIT:

'saw this one:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/cyberpowerpc-gamer-ultra-desktop-amd-fx-series-8gb-memory-1tb-hard-drive-black-red/4300907.p?id=bb4300907&skuId=4300907

Not sure of the exact CPU model but 1 TB HDD, 8 GB RAM and an Nvidia GT730, it's pretty decent.

Also got this one:
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/ibuypower-desktop-amd-fx-series-8gb-memory-500gb-hard-drive-black-blue/4575218.p?id=1219770999039&skuId=4575218

The specs are similar but it seems to have better reviews.
Think he was referencing DDR3 for the system ram:)
I know pretty much nothing about gaming technology except for you need a good video card for games and DDR3 is the way to go or something like that.

I'd like to buy a computer that can run games like DayZ at mid-high graphics for under 500 bucks. Is it possible?

If anyone wants to educate me on PC parts that'd be nice too.
I am here for you buddy!!! I am crazy about PC gaming!!:) PM me maybe? Btw do you want it now or could you wait a few months?

Microcosm
June 10th, 2016, 04:37 PM
Think he was referencing DDR3 for the system ram:)

I am here for you buddy!!! I am crazy about PC gaming!!:) PM me maybe? Btw do you want it now or could you wait a few months?

I don't have the money yet so it'd probably be for a few months down the line.

Should I buy the parts and piece them together or just buy a pre-built PC?
Reise I was under the impression that buying the individual parts yourself was cheaper, but I could be wrong.

Reise
June 10th, 2016, 04:40 PM
Reise I was under the impression that buying the individual parts yourself was cheaper, but I could be wrong.
It is cheaper actually, but if you know neither precisely the parts (their specs, balanced configuration etc) nor how a tower is built (if there is a problem due to a wrong manipulation you won't have any backup or real warranty) this is gonna be hard for you.

Flapjack
June 10th, 2016, 04:44 PM
I don't have the money yet so it'd probably be for a few months down the line.

Should I buy the parts and piece them together or just buy a pre-built PC?
@Reise (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=117175) I was under the impression that buying the individual parts yourself was cheaper, but I could be wrong.

Wait for the new series of GTX graphics cards, they're coming out now. I think you will end up with a nice GTX 1060 or 1050 with your budget:) That being said used GTX 970s will be really cheap now and will easily be able to do what you want it to at 1080p:)

Building a PC and chosing the parts in often cheaper but I have seen cases where it is actually more expensive. However do not do it if you don't know how to!! It's pretty simple but you must know what you're doing:)

Will you consider used parts? Do you know what parts are risky to buy used?

Microcosm
June 10th, 2016, 04:51 PM
Will you consider used parts? Do you know what parts are risky to buy used?

I might consider used parts depending on how old they are.

To the second question I would imagine a video card and processor would be risky.

It is cheaper actually, but if you know neither precisely the parts (their specs, balanced configuration etc) nor how a tower is built (if there is a problem due to a wrong manipulation you won't have any backup or real warranty) this is gonna be hard for you.

Yeah that is true.

Reise
June 10th, 2016, 05:00 PM
Processing units (GPU and CPU) are risky, indeed.
Simply because beyond their "age" the way they have been used is critical.

You can ruin an i7 Skylake in a month if you don't take care of it.

Other parts like the RAM are way less risky because even an intensive (and kinda negligent) use won't deteriorate it that easily.

Flapjack
June 10th, 2016, 05:00 PM
I might consider used parts depending on how old they are.

To the second question I would imagine a video card and processor would be risky.


Yeah pretty much buddy but the GPU will be the most expensive part of your PC so you may want to consider it. A year old GPU that has not been overclocked should be good:) Or you can have a less powerful GPU and know it is good and that it has a warrently. This is why I love PC gaming, we have so much choice:)

I recommend finding the best GPU in your pirce range and whether or not it statifies you:) If not check out used!:)

Uniquemind
June 11th, 2016, 02:30 AM
I was told to avoid the GTX 970 NVIDIA. Graphics cards as there's a mass defect in them which is part of the reason the 980's were pushed out so fast.


I'm in the same situation the OP is in but I've decided to save all of my $ instead for 2 more years since technological progression is having a growth spurt.

Reise
June 11th, 2016, 05:47 AM
I was told to avoid the GTX 970 NVIDIA. Graphics cards as there's a mass defect in them which is part of the reason the 980's were pushed out so fast.
The 970 is a good one.
Though what you're referring is probably the fact that 512 MB of its VRAM run at a way lower frequency than the rest which causes sometimes on highly demanding games a brutal FPS drop.
This is way we say that the 970 isn't 4GB but rather 3.5 GB.
It's still pretty decent though.

Flapjack
June 11th, 2016, 06:43 AM
I was told to avoid the GTX 970 NVIDIA. Graphics cards as there's a mass defect in them which is part of the reason the 980's were pushed out so fast.


I'm in the same situation the OP is in but I've decided to save all of my $ instead for 2 more years since technological progression is having a growth spurt.
It will likely be improving at a rapid rate it 2 years buddy, if I was you I would get what you can afford now and upgrade as you go:)

Microcosm
June 11th, 2016, 04:11 PM
Reise TheFlapjack

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16883102137

This one has a GTX 950. Worth the extra money?

Flapjack
June 11th, 2016, 04:26 PM
@Reise (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=117175) @TheFlapjack (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=122060)

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16883102137

This one has a GTX 950. Worth the extra money?
You can do better for that much money my friend:) Do you want an SSD? Because it would be cheaper to ditch it.

Reise
June 11th, 2016, 04:53 PM
It just has an 240 GB SSD as storage.
Still, you can buy an HDD and install, perhaps ~$80 for a good one.

The GTX 950 has the highest FPS per Dollars rate if I remember well.

Microcosm
June 11th, 2016, 05:01 PM
Reise TheFlapjack

I could get the same rig with a GTX 750Ti and a 1TB HDD for 529. Better deal?

Flapjack
June 11th, 2016, 05:06 PM
@Reise (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=117175) @TheFlapjack (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=122060)

I could get the same rig with a GTX 750Ti and a 1TB HDD for 529. Better deal?
I don't think a 750ti will do all you need it too buddy and if it only has that SSD, that is reallyyyy not enough space!! 700gb of space on my gaming pc hard drive is just for game storage!

What is the max you can spend and what do you want your PC to do?:)

Reise
June 11th, 2016, 05:12 PM
Well, I've got a GTX 970M which is said to be slightly superior to the GTX 750Ti.
I can run Fallout 4 in Ultra at 60 FPS.

Though my laptop has a pretty good cooling system I can easily imagine that a desktop will have no problem on that point.
An important fact is to know wether the GC is mini (1 fan) or standard (2 fans).

Microcosm
June 11th, 2016, 05:12 PM
I don't think a 750ti will do all you need it too buddy and if it only has that SSD, that is reallyyyy not enough space!! 700gb of space on my gaming pc hard drive is just for game storage!

What is the max you can spend and what do you want your PC to do?:)

So I could probably allocate up to 600 dollars at most for a new PC. I'd like it to able to play games at mid-high graphics that are graphically intensive and I really want to play No Man's Sky when it comes out.

Probably won't have too many games loaded on the memory space.

Reise
June 11th, 2016, 05:16 PM
Whoops.
Try to avoid the 750Ti. It doesn't support DirectX12.

http://www.geforce.co.uk/hardware/technology/dx12/supported-gpus

Flapjack
June 11th, 2016, 05:18 PM
So I could probably allocate up to 600 dollars at most for a new PC. I'd like it to able to play games at mid-high graphics that are graphically intensive and I really want to play No Man's Sky when it comes out.

Probably won't have too many games loaded on the memory space.

Alright my friend I shall build you the best rig I can:) I shall do it tomorrow:)

I just looked up and a 950 is the recommended GPU for no mans sky so I shall try to include that or improve it. What resoluton would you like to game in?

Microcosm
June 11th, 2016, 07:17 PM
Alright my friend I shall build you the best rig I can:) I shall do it tomorrow:)

I just looked up and a 950 is the recommended GPU for no mans sky so I shall try to include that or improve it. What resoluton would you like to game in?

Preferably 1080 on most games, but 720 would be acceptable. I think I am going to buy a pre-built rig though so I don't have to put it together myself.

Flapjack
June 12th, 2016, 05:20 AM
Preferably 1080 on most games, but 720 would be acceptable. I think I am going to buy a pre-built rig though so I don't have to put it together myself.
https://www.amazon.com/CyberpowerPC-Gamer-GUA3200A-Gaming-Desktop/dp/B012OU7B1O/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1465726625&sr=8-1&keywords=gtx+950+gaming+pc
It is $10 more than your budget but it is so worth it buddy!!
The gtx 950 should be able to get most games on high settings at 1080p or 900p I doubt you will need to go to 720p buddy:)

Microcosm
June 12th, 2016, 06:03 AM
https://www.amazon.com/CyberpowerPC-Gamer-GUA3200A-Gaming-Desktop/dp/B012OU7B1O/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1465726625&sr=8-1&keywords=gtx+950+gaming+pc
It is $10 more than your budget but it is so worth it buddy!!
The gtx 950 should be able to get most games on high settings at 1080p or 900p I doubt you will need to go to 720p buddy:)

Thanks for the link.

I have heard bad things about AMD processors and that games run better on Intel. Is that true?

Flapjack
June 12th, 2016, 06:23 AM
Thanks for the link.

I have heard bad things about AMD processors and that games run better on Intel. Is that true?
Nah tbh there is no real difference between AMD and Intel CPU when it comes to gaming:) Speed and cores are the most important things:) Of course things are more complicated but intel is wayyyy more expensive so AMD for the win:)

I personally have an Intel CPU so don't worry about me being a fanboyXD

You might be confused with the AMD vs Nvidia stuff:)

Microcosm
June 12th, 2016, 07:36 AM
Nah tbh there is no real difference between AMD and Intel CPU when it comes to gaming:) Speed and cores are the most important things:) Of course things are more complicated but intel is wayyyy more expensive so AMD for the win:)

I personally have an Intel CPU so don't worry about me being a fanboyXD

You might be confused with the AMD vs Nvidia stuff:)

Okay I will consider the PC you suggested. Thanks!

Flapjack
June 12th, 2016, 08:57 AM
Okay I will consider the PC you suggested. Thanks!
I think it's as good as you're going to get now buddy but if you're saving or waiting a while, wait for the 1050 or 1060:)

Microcosm
June 16th, 2016, 09:21 PM
TheFlapjack, Reise,

How is this computer?

https://www.amazon.com/CybertronPC-Patriot-A10-7-Gaming-Dekstop/dp/B011A7GDDE/ref=sr_1_72?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1466129733&sr=1-72&refinements=p_n_condition-type%3A2224371011

Or this one

https://www.amazon.com/CybertronPC-Borg-Q-860X-Gaming-Desktop/dp/B011A7GR6C/ref=sr_1_55?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1466132411&sr=1-55&refinements=p_n_condition-type%3A2224371011

Flapjack
June 17th, 2016, 12:47 AM
@TheFlapjack (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=122060), @Reise (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=117175),

How is this computer?

https://www.amazon.com/CybertronPC-Patriot-A10-7-Gaming-Dekstop/dp/B011A7GDDE/ref=sr_1_72?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1466129733&sr=1-72&refinements=p_n_condition-type%3A2224371011

Or this one

https://www.amazon.com/CybertronPC-Borg-Q-860X-Gaming-Desktop/dp/B011A7GR6C/ref=sr_1_55?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1466132411&sr=1-55&refinements=p_n_condition-type%3A2224371011
Okayyyy I wouldn't touch the first one as it is saying the gpu in integrated and later on saying it is dedicated. That and it does not seem to specify what exact GPU it has. I am not very good with AMD gpus though so I may be wrong.

As for the second, the CPU is amazing!! Little annoying how some details are lacking like RAM speed however.... DDR3 can be anywhere between 800 and 2133 mhz and for gaming you need at least 1600mhz buddy!

The GPU is a R7 360 and here is some gameplay with the fps shown:) I should note however the gameplay is in 1080p and you could drop the resolution to 900p to improve performance without that much of a difference.


enIag_1OvJ8

Reise
June 17th, 2016, 06:18 AM
I searched a bit for the CPU's characteristics (for the second one), it's not a 'good performance' (gamely talking) one but seems decent for the price.
Btw I checked the Athlon II X4 640, which is slightly below this one.

The graphic card seems close from the GTX 750Ti.

Skylark
June 21st, 2016, 06:20 PM
Maybe an i3-4130 or G3258 for the CPU. A 750Ti or R7 370 for the GPU. A 1TB WD Blue HDD, no SSD because come on, a $500 budget? Lemme tell you something: DON'T skimp on the PSU, if it's a shitty PSU, it might stop working and send a jolt of power to another component while it's at it. Should keep it under $500 if you go for these and budget mobo, case, RAM sticks.

Maybe an i3-4130 or G3258 for the CPU. A 750Ti or R7 370 for the GPU. A 1TB WD Blue HDD, no SSD because come on, a $500 budget? Lemme tell you something: DON'T skimp on the PSU, if it's a shitty PSU, it might stop working and send a jolt of power to another component while it's at it. Should keep it under $500 if you go for these and budget mobo, case, RAM sticks.

I'm seeing a lot of posts above about the devilry of the 750Ti, so maybe get a GTX 960 instead. Prices have gone down a bit, but should drop by a ton by late July/early August.

Microcosm
June 22nd, 2016, 04:32 AM
Reise TheFlapjack Skylark

I've considered building my computer and I think I can do it. It's cheaper and a better idea, I think. I have family members who know how to do it so they could put it together for me.

I went on pcpartpicker and made this rig: http://pcpartpicker.com/list/CfCBm8

What do you guys think? I have a monitor already.

EDIT: Updated parts list(with Reise's suggested changes): http://pcpartpicker.com/list/bThsYr

Reise
June 22nd, 2016, 06:47 AM
Microcosm:
- No need of a 650W PSU for such a configuration. 350W will be enough, you can take 400 or 450 if you plan to update your build in the future.
- I'd recommend you to take a 1TB HDD minimum, it's very frustating not to have enough storage space.
- CD/DVD R/W is a bit useless nowadays, in my opinion. Unless you have some activities related to it you can forget it.
- A quadcore CPU would be preferable.

Microcosm
June 22nd, 2016, 06:48 AM
Microcosm:
- No need of a 650W PSU for such a configuration. 350W will be enough, you can take 400 or 450 if you plan to update your build in the future.
- I'd recommend you to take a 1TB HDD minimum, it's very frustating not to have enough storage space.
- CD/DVD R/W is a bit useless nowadays, in my opinion. Unless you have some activities related to it you can forget it.

Thanks for the advice!

Flapjack
June 22nd, 2016, 10:07 AM
@Reise (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=117175) do the i3 processors have hyperthreading? Microcosm do you really need 16gb of ddr4? Could you not settle with 8gb ddr3?

Microcosm
June 22nd, 2016, 11:08 AM
TheFlapjack,

If you say so. Again, I don't know much about it so I just went with what was the highest amount and cheapest.

However, I found two 4gb ddr3 ram chips in my old laptop so I could probably use those. That brings the price down to only 458 dollars :D

Would that work, you think?

Flapjack
June 22nd, 2016, 11:29 AM
@TheFlapjack (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=122060),

If you say so. Again, I don't know much about it so I just went with what was the highest amount and cheapest.

However, I found two 4gb ddr3 ram chips in my old laptop so I could probably use those. That brings the price down to only 458 dollars :D

Would that work, you think?
I don't think so, you might need one of these:
https://www.amazon.co.uk/SODIAL-Desktop-Adapter-Connector-Converter/dp/B00JQ1B5CG/ref=pd_cp_147_1?ie=UTF8&refRID=M44AV89Z7F81H780K374

However I think the adapter will highly impact the speed, assuming your laptop ram is even fast enough on its own. I have never done this before.... we need reisexD

Reise
June 22nd, 2016, 12:49 PM
@Reise (http://www.virtualteen.org/forums/member.php?u=117175) do the i3 processors have hyperthreading?
This one does. According to Intel (http://ark.intel.com/products/90729/Intel-Core-i3-6100-Processor-3M-Cache-3_70-GHz). Though I think 4 cores would be preferable to 2 hyper threaded cores.

Flapjack
June 22nd, 2016, 12:55 PM
This one does. According to Intel (http://ark.intel.com/products/90729/Intel-Core-i3-6100-Processor-3M-Cache-3_70-GHz). Though I think 4 cores would be preferable to 2 hyper threaded cores.
Of course but I think it's the best we will get with the budget! Have you seen his idea about laptop ram in a desktop and my response, what do you think?