PDA

View Full Version : Working in a trade ?

Vermilion
April 27th, 2016, 06:58 AM
So I've been meaning to ask this but never get around to doing so any Vt member like me are in a trade/ learning one ?

So I study carpentry but I also do electrics and plumbing at work.

Typhlosion
April 28th, 2016, 08:14 AM
I don't work at a trade, but I did go to vocational school for programming. I recommend it! Now I'm an intern programming for ModClima, a company that works with climate.

ImCoolBeans
April 28th, 2016, 09:37 AM
I'm not going to vocational school or learning a trade, but my entire paternal side of the family is in a trade. They're 4 generations deep as plumbers, my dad and one of my brothers own a plumbing/heating/fire sprinkler company and do other contracting work as well. My other two brothers are both plumbers too, but don't live in the area anymore. I've worked with them a lot and like to think I'm pretty handy, but I don't plan on following in their footsteps. But if you drop a ring down the sink or need a toilet set, I'm your man :P

kev1998
April 28th, 2016, 11:29 AM
I think that everyone should learn a trade even if they choose a different career path in life. My dad for instance is a warden at a state prison but he is also a licensed electrician. His career is law enforcement but he has his electrical skills to fall back on in case he suddenly finds himself out of a job.

Vermilion
April 29th, 2016, 12:19 AM
I think that everyone should learn a trade even if they choose a different career path in life. My dad for instance is a warden at a state prison but he is also a licensed electrician. His career is law enforcement but he has his electrical skills to fall back on in case he suddenly finds himself out of a job.

I have to say it's interesting what your dad does :) but I have to disagree with everyone learning a trade as there would be less work. I do think everyone should be a to change a washer put up a shelf ect

Xiao.Z
April 29th, 2016, 01:17 AM