PDA

View Full Version : I stopped taking my meds.

CreativeUsername
December 5th, 2015, 03:58 AM
Short version: I stopped taking my Prozac, should I tell my parents?

I had been taking Prozac for a while, for my anxiety and depression. But it didn't really do much, and I had to take four pills each day, which just sucked. So sometime, I just kinda stopped. It started by just forgetting about it, and then I stopped completely. I didn't have any side effects, and nothing has really changed since I stopped (multiple months). Now, my parents decided that I should actually stop taking it, meaning I'd gradually lower the dose over about a month. Should I tell my parents, and if so, how?

This also basically means that I have been lying to them for a few months.

Deleted User
December 5th, 2015, 10:52 AM
You should tell your parents or a doctor immediately if you stop taking any form of mediation. Going cold turkey off of many medications can cause side effects even if you're not aware of them. Most doctors will make sure you know everything but I've had a couple who have neglected to tell me things. AKA I have one medication that could kill me if I just flat out stopped.

Not to mention, if you don't tell anyone, you can't find other options. Prozac is far from the only anti-depressant you can take and, in my experience, it can be fickle. It's the most common but there are actually a lot of people who don't respond to it.

Four tablets a day is a lot though. Is that how it was prescribed?

CreativeUsername
December 5th, 2015, 01:12 PM
You should tell your parents or a doctor immediately if you stop taking any form of mediation. Going cold turkey off of many medications can cause side effects even if you're not aware of them. Most doctors will make sure you know everything but I've had a couple who have neglected to tell me things. AKA I have one medication that could kill me if I just flat out stopped.